Keyword In Domain Name?

fable666
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:21 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Keyword In Domain Name?

Postby fable666 » Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:48 am

Hi guys,

A question, putting your main keyword in your domain name still any good? As I have read that it does not hold any power anymore. Is this true?

Many thanks
Looking for a bike rack? Then come on over to the #1 Site For Bike Rack Reviews and have a look to see what you could have missed reading other review sites. What are you waiting for? what have you got to lose? Come take a look....
POSTROW VIEW TOPIC BODY
User avatar
jimburrow
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Keyword In Domain Name?

Postby jimburrow » Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:03 pm

It depends on how complex your website is. If you have very comprehensive content very informative, and tons of backlinks to authority sites or your site is considered a good authority site, then it probably wouldn't matter that much. However, for us little guys to have a change in good ranking in the search results pages, then by all means, have your primary keyword in the domain name.

On all marcus training webinars, he tries to hammer this into us. It's that important!
Jim Burrow a senior student of Marcus.
http://howtobuildablog.net
rich5467
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Keyword In Domain Name?

Postby rich5467 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:56 am

This really depends. Google does have an EMD penalty built into it's search algorithm. See link here: https://www.shoutmeloud.com/exact-match-domain-penalty-added-to-google-algo.html

EMD stands for Exact Match Domain and it means, essentially, that your keyword appears in your domain name.

Marcus teaches some generally safe techniques. So you should not have an issue, HOWEVER, there is always a chance that you can be hit with a penalty if you get too crazy.

Return to “Domain Names And Site Buying”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests